Roald Dahl: Lamb to the Slaughter

This is a murder story.

A scene of domestic felicity suddenly takes a turn for the worse.

The wife calls the police and the arms of the law arrive: some of these are attached to friends of the murdered man who was a colleague of theirs.

Yesterday I said that in a murder case corpus delicti is vital; another clue the police look for is the weapon that was used in the crime. Perpetrators of murder, however, devise ingenious ways to hide it.

I have read this story to a gathering of some 15 or 20 people in my home; they liked it and no-one protested. But if you are squeamish, don’t read the story.

http://www.classicshorts.com/stories/lamb.html

Quote

“It’s the old story,” he said.  “Get the weapon, and you’ve got the man.”

6 Responses to Roald Dahl: Lamb to the Slaughter

  1. How weird! And how clever!A vixen!

  2. Shuchi says:

    I was waiting for a Roald Dahl story to be featured here. One of my favourite fiction writers.

    His mature stories are so full of evil (such as this one!), I was curious to know what he writes for kids as he’s more popular as a children’s writer. I picked up a couple of his children’s books recently. Though toned down and tied in with a moral (the naughty kids get punished, the good ones are rewarded), the gleeful malice is visible there too!

    • cgrishikesh says:

      Have you read “The Switcheroo”? I found it a great read though you may have to deal with a willing suspension of disbelief (have I got the Coleridgean expression correct?). It is a long story and I may not feature it here for the reason that you can guess if you have read it.

    • cgrishikesh says:

      Shuchi,
      I liked “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” (with black and white illustrations), though I was quite a grown-up when I read it (the same road that you traversed: adult fiction to children’s fiction!). I would love to read it to my six-year-old granddaughter but, alas, either she must come to Madras or I must go to El Dorado Hills, CA. Or maybe technology allows us to do it via the Internet.

  3. Anna says:

    When I read “The Alpine Divorce”, I remembered this story of Roald Dahl.
    “William and Mary” and “The way upto heaven”, by the same author also feature the spontaneous scheming by women. Its intersting to read how they catch their husbands unaware !

Leave a Reply

